Municipal representatives on the MPAC Board of Directors

These are the current municipal representatives serving on the MPAC Board of Directors.

Alan Speck (Chair) Alan Spacek (Chair)

Mr. Spacek was elected Mayor of Kapuskasing in 2006 and was acclaimed for two more terms, retiring in December 2018. During his time as Mayor, he was a member of the Federation of Northern Ontario Municipalities (FONOM) for twelve years, serving as President for eight years until August 2018.

He has served on numerous boards and executives including Kapuskasing and District Chamber of Commerce, Northeastern Ontario Municipal Association (NEOMA) and the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO).

Mr. Spacek built his career as a respected entrepreneur, owning and operating a number of businesses, and continues to serve as an active member of the Canadian Professional Sales Association (CPSA).

Janice Baker Janice Baker

Ms. Janice Baker is currently serving as the Chief Administrative Officer of the Region of Peel. She is the former City Manager and Chief Administrative Officer of the City of Mississauga and has a broad background in both the private and public sectors, gained through 33 years of municipal government and fiscal administration experience.

Prior to joining the City of Mississauga in 1999, Ms. Baker served as Director of Finance and City Treasurer for the City of St. John's, Newfoundland and Commissioner of Corporate Services and then Commissioner of Public Works for the City of Oshawa, Ontario.

Ms. Baker holds a Bachelor of Commerce Honours degree from Memorial University of Newfoundland. She has served on several Boards and Committees including the Living Arts Centre, the Healthy Cities Stewardship Centre and the Canadian Association of Municipal Administrators.

In 2010, she was inducted into the WXN Canada’s Top 100 Most Powerful Women’s Hall of Fame and has been the recipient of a number of awards, including the Vanier Medal from the Institute of Public Administration of Canada in 2019, becoming the first local government leader to be recognized with this award.

Wendy Landry Wendy Landry

Ms. Landry is Mayor of the Municipality of Shuniah, President of the Northwestern Ontario Municipal Association (NOMA), and an executive member of the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO). The first Indigenous woman in Ontario to serve as a mayor, Ms. Landry was elected in 2010 after holding various roles in both the public and private sector.

In addition to Indigenous and municipal affairs, Ms. Landry has specialized in the security and correctional field for 25 years, and began her career teaching police foundations, law and security programs. Throughout her career as professor she has taught a variety of subjects including political science, human diversity, criminology, history of Aboriginal/Canadian relations, and more.

Ms. Landry has long been passionate about community engagement and governance, and continues to be actively involved on boards and committees of many organizations, including the Shuniah Youth Centre.

Delia Reiche Delia Reiche

Delia Reiche is a leading economic development professional who brings an extensive background in business management, manufacturing, tourism, and agriculture. Currently the Development Liaison for the County of Brant, Mrs. Reiche also serves as Past Deputy Mayor of Thames Centre and is a former Middlesex County Councillor. Mrs. Reiche brings expertise from her role as Past President of the Economic Developer Council of Ontario (EDCO), and from her time as past Board members of both the Rural Ontario Municipal Association (ROMA) and the Associations of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO).

Mrs. Reiche is among a select group of fewer than 40 people in Canada to have obtained the Economic Development Fellowship designation, the highest level of economic development certification in the country. She is one of the 2019 Honourees of the Women of Influence in Local Government Award by Municipal World Magazine.

Mrs. Reiche is a graduate from the University of Waterloo and teaches Economic Development part-time at Ryerson University.

Roberty Rossini Roberto Rossini

Mr. Rossini recently retired as the City of Toronto's Deputy City Manager & Chief Financial Officer. As one of three deputies reporting to the City Manager, he was responsible for leading corporate services and the financial stewardship of Canada's largest city and sixth largest government.

Prior to joining the City of Toronto, Mr. Rossini was the General Manager of Finance and Corporate Services at the City of Hamilton and the Director of Finance for the City of Mississauga. He also held other progressively responsible finance-related positions at the Ontario Ministry of Municipal Affairs, the Ontario Ministry of Treasury, Economics and Intergovernmental Affairs and the Region of Halton.

Throughout his career, Mr. Rossini has been instrumental in various intergovernmental initiatives with the Province of Ontario, the Regional/Single Tier Treasurers group and other municipalities on matters such as municipal grants, service and funding realignments, taxation reform and infrastructure funding.

Ken Seiling Ken Seiling

Ken Seiling is a life long resident of Elmira. Ken was first elected as the Regional Chair in 1985 after serving as Mayor and Councillor in Woolwich Township. On November 30, 2018, Ken retired having served 33 years as Regional Chair. Prior to becoming Regional Chair, Ken was a high school teacher and a museum director. Ken and his wife Kathryn have five children and eleven grandchildren. He is a history buff and church musician.

Patricia Vanini Patricia Vanini

Pat holds considerable strategic leadership, board governance and policy experience from her 43 year career across government and the not for profit sector.

 She began her career as a land use planner working at the municipal level. While at the province, Pat steered an affordable housing program and facilitated the move from a provincial based planning system to a community based one.

In 1995, Pat joined the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO), a not for profit corporation advocating the interests of 444 municipal governments. She held a variety of positions and appointed Executive Director in 2002, retiring in 2019. Many significant legislative, service and program changes which enhanced the capacity of municipal governments occurred during her tenure.

While holding AMO’s senior corporate accountability, she was also the President of the Local Authority Services and the Municipal Employer Pension Centre of Ontario. These two business corporations of AMO deliver programs to help municipal governments provide cost effective services and represent the sector in its public pension system. In 2019, she was the recipient of the Municipal World’s “Women of Influence in Local Government”.

Représentants municipaux au sein du conseil d’administration de la SEFM

Voici les représentants municipaux actuels qui siègent au Conseil d’administration de la SEFM. 

Alan Spacek (président) Alan Spacek (président)

Il a été élu maire de Kapuskasing en 2006 et a été réélu par acclamation pendant deux autres mandats, prenant sa retraite en décembre 2018. Pendant son mandat de maire, il a été membre de la Fédération des municipalités du Nord de l’Ontario pendant douze ans et en a été le président pendant huit ans, jusqu’en août 2018.

Il a siégé à de nombreux conseils et comités exécutifs, y compris la Chambre de commerce de Kapuskasing et du district, la Northeastern Ontario Municipal Association (NOMA) et l’Association des municipalités de l’Ontario (AMO).

M. Spacek a eu une carrière d’entrepreneur respecté en tant que propriétaire et exploitant de plusieurs entreprises, et il est toujours membre actif de l’Association canadienne des professionnels de la vente (ACPV).

Janice Baker Janice Baker

Mme Janice Baker est actuellement directrice générale de la Région de Peel. Elle est l’ancienne directrice municipale et directrice générale de la Cité de Mississauga et possède une vaste expérience dans le secteur public et le secteur privé, acquise pendant 33 ans de travail dans les domaines du gouvernement municipal et de l’administration des finances publiques.

Avant d’entrer au service de la Cité de Mississauga en 1999, Mme Baker était directrice des finances et trésorière municipale de la Cité de St. John’s, à Terre-Neuve, et commissaire des services généraux, puis des travaux publics, pour la Cité d’Oshawa, en Ontario.

Mme Baker a obtenu un baccalauréat en commerce avec spécialisation de l’Université Memorial à Terre-Neuve. Elle a siégé à différents conseils d’administration et comités, y compris le Living Arts Centre, le Healthy Cities Stewardship Centre et l’Association canadienne des administrateurs municipaux.

En 2010, elle a été intronisée au temple de la renommée des 100 femmes les plus puissantes de WXN Canada et a été lauréate de nombreux prix, y compris la médaille Vanier de l’Institut d’administration publique du Canada en 2019, devenant la première dirigeante d’un gouvernement local à recevoir cette reconnaissance.

Wendy Landry Wendy Landry

Mme Landry est mairesse de la Municipalité de Shuniah, présidente de la Northwestern Ontario Municipal Association (NOMA) et membre exécutive de l’Association des municipalités de l’Ontario (AMO). Première femme autochtone de l’Ontario à occuper le poste de maire, Mme Landry a été élue en 2010 après avoir occupé divers postes dans les secteurs public et privé.

En plus des affaires indigènes et municipales, Mme Landry s’est spécialisée dans le domaine de la sécurité et des services correctionnels pendant 25 ans, et a commencé sa carrière en enseignant des programmes de fondation des services policiers, de droit et de sécurité. Tout au long de sa carrière de professeur, elle a enseigné diverses matières, dont les sciences politiques, la diversité humaine, la criminologie, l’histoire des relations entre les Autochtones et les Canadiens, et plus encore.

Mme Landry est depuis longtemps passionnée par l’engagement communautaire et la gouvernance, et continue de participer activement aux conseils et comités de nombreuses organisations, dont le Shuniah Youth Centre. 

Delia Reiche Delia Reiche

Delia Reiche est une professionnelle en développement économique de premier plan qui apporte une vaste expérience dans les domaines de la gestion d’entreprise, de la fabrication, du tourisme et de l’agriculture. Actuellement chargée de la liaison pour le développement dans le comté de Brant, Mme Reiche est également ancienne adjointe au maire de Thames Centre et ancienne conseillère du comté de Middlesex. Mme Reiche apporte son expertise tirée de son ancienne fonction de présidente d’Economic Developer Council of Ontario (EDCO) et du temps qu’elle a consacré en qualité de membre du conseil d’administration de la Rural Ontario Municipal Association (ROMA) et de l’Association des municipalités de l’Ontario (AMO).

Mme Reiche fait partie d’un groupe restreint de moins de 40 personnes au Canada qui ont obtenu la distinction de Fellow en développement économique, le plus haut niveau de certification en développement économique du pays. Elle est l’une des lauréates 2019 du prix Women of Influence in Local Government décerné par Municipal World Magazine.

Mme Reiche est diplômée de l’Université de Waterloo et enseigne le développement économique à temps partiel à l’Université Ryerson.

Roberto Rossini Roberto Rossini

M. Rossini a pris sa retraite de son poste de directeur municipal adjoint et directeur financier de la Ville de Toronto. En tant qu’un des trois adjoints relevant du directeur municipal, il était chargé de diriger les services généraux et l’intendance financière de la plus grande ville et sixième gouvernement en importance au Canada.

Avant d’entrer au service de la Ville de Toronto, M. Rossini était directeur général des finances et des services généraux de la Ville de Hamilton et directeur des finances de la Ville de Mississauga. Il a également occupé des postes financiers de plus en plus responsables au sein du ministère des Affaires municipales de l’Ontario, du ministère du Trésor, de l’Économie et des Affaires intergouvernementales de l’Ontario et de la Région de Halton.

Pendant sa carrière, M. Rossini a joué un rôle de premier plan au sein de différentes initiatives intergouvernementales avec la Province de l’Ontario, le groupe des trésoriers des municipalités régionales et non régionalisées et d’autres municipalités concernant des affaires telles que les subventions municipales, l’harmonisation des services et du financement, la réforme de l’imposition et le financement de l’infrastructure.

Ken Seiling Ken Seiling

Ken Seiling a toujours résidé à Elmira. Il a été élu pour la première fois président régional en 1985 après avoir été maire et conseiller dans le canton de Woolwich. Le 30 novembre 2018, il a pris sa retraite après avoir occupé le poste de président régional pendant 33 ans. Avant de devenir président régional, il était professeur d’école secondaire et directeur de musée. Ken Seiling et sa femme Kathryn ont cinq enfants et onze petits-enfants. Il est un mordu d’histoire et un musicien d’Église.

Patricia Vanini Patricia Vanini

Patricia Vanini possède une expérience considérable de la direction stratégique, de la gouvernance des conseils d’administration et des politiques acquise au cours de sa carrière de 43 ans dans l’ensemble du gouvernement et dans le secteur sans but lucratif.

Elle a commencé sa carrière comme planificatrice de l’utilisation des sols au niveau municipal. Pendant son séjour dans la province, elle a dirigé un programme de logement abordable et facilité le passage d’un système de planification provincial à un système communautaire.

En 1995, Patricia Vanini est entrée au service de l’Association des municipalités de l’Ontario (AMO), une société sans but lucratif qui défend les intérêts de 444 administrations municipales. Elle a occupé divers postes et a été nommée directrice exécutive en 2002, prenant sa retraite en 2019. De nombreux changements importants dans les lois, les services et les programmes qui ont permis d’améliorer la capacité des administrations municipales se sont produits pendant son mandat.

Tout en assumant la responsabilité de la haute direction d’AMO, Patricia Vanini a également été présidente des Local Authority Services (Services des administrations locales) et du Municipal Employer Pension Centre of Ontario (Centre des pensions des employeurs municipaux de l’Ontario). Ces deux sociétés commerciales d’AMO offrent des programmes pour aider les administrations municipales à fournir des services rentables et à représenter le secteur dans son système public de pensions. En 2019, elle a été la lauréate du prix « Women of Influence in Local Government » (« Femmes influentes dans les gouvernements locaux ») de Municipal World.