Property Assessment and Taxation

Each component of Ontario's property assessment system plays an important role.

MPAC is responsible for assessing and classifying more than five million properties in Ontario in compliance with the Assessment Act and regulations set by the Government of Ontario.

Municipalities determine revenue requirements, set municipal tax rates and collect property taxes to pay for municipal services. Education tax rates, set by the Ontario Government, may also be applied using the assessed value.

It is the accuracy of our assessments that help to ensure property owners pay their fair share, and nothing more.

To learn more about how taxes are calculated, watch the video below.

Learn more about how taxes are calculated video

Four-Year Cycle

Every four years, we mail a Property Assessment Notice to every property owner in Ontario. Your 2016 Notice reflects the assessed value and classification of your property as of January 1, 2016.

We continue to review properties during non-Assessment Update years as new homes are built, owners renovate, structures are demolished and properties change use.

We are legislatively responsible for updating this information throughout the four-year cycle so that property owners continue to pay only their fair share. We mail Notices to property owners each fall to reflect these types of changes.

Learn more about other Notices

Phase-in Program

To provide an additional level of property tax stability and predictability, market increases in assessed value between Assessment Updates are phased in gradually over four years. Under the phase-in provision in the Assessment Act, an increase in assessed value is introduced gradually. A decrease in assessed value is introduced immediately.

Increases in assessed value between the January 1, 2012 and January 1, 2016 legislated valuation dates will be phased in over 2017 to 2020.

Understanding the Phase-in Program

Property classification phased-in table

Property Classification

Your Notice also shows your property classification. All land in Ontario must be assigned to a property class or classes for property taxation purposes. Your property classification is also listed on the Assessment Roll that we provide to Ontario’s municipalities, local taxing authorities and the Minister of Finance.

Section 7(1) of the Assessment Act provides for seven major property classes – residential, multi-residential, commercial, industrial, pipe line, farm and managed forests.

Learn More

Assessing Residential Properties in Ontario

Assessing Residential Properties in Ontario 

How MPAC establishes your assessed value

How MPAC establishes your assessed value

2016 Assessment Update

Understanding your 2016 Property Assessment Notice brochure 

Note: The applicable law prevails to the extent there is any conflict between this information and the current law. This information is not intended to provide legal advice and should not be relied upon as such.